UO IRES Alum Nicole Butler-Hooton Named Oregon’s 2021 Teacher of the Year

"Irving Elementary School second grade educator Nicole Butler-Hooton was named Oregon’s 2021 Teacher of the Year! Governor Kate Brown and Oregon Department of Education Director Colt Gill virtually joined Bethel School District Superintendent Chris Parra and Irving Elementary Principal Nathan Bridgens in honoring Butler-Hooton for her transformational rapport with students, families and the school community at large.

Read full story

Keeping Up With Our Alumni: Carina Miller, Class of 2011

Alumnus Carina Miller, Class of 2011, is running for Oregon State Senate District 30, to represent all of Baker, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Malheur, and Wheeler counties, as well as parts of Deschutes, Lake, and Wasco counties. Good Luck, Carina! Update on May 4th, 2022: She is currently the agency district or Wasco Tribal representative on the 27th Tribal Council of Warm Springs. She is also a co-chair of the energy committee for the Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians and the chair of the Native American caucus for the Democratic party of Oregon.

Read full story

Subscribe to Alumni